Changing User License Types

Follow

Overview

When granting users access to Practifi, there are two types of licenses - Salesforce and Salesforce Platform. To create a System Administrator user within your organization, their user license selection must be set to a Salesforce license. A Salesforce license can be applied to all users regardless of whether they are a System Administrator. Occasionally, you may need to swap out a Salesforce license with a Salesforce Platform license to create a new System Administrator in your organization. To deactivate a user profile and transfer its license to another user, you need System Administrator access in Practifi. This article explains how to transfer a license from one user to another user.

Deactivating the User Profile

To transfer a user license from one user to another, you will need to deactivate the user that has the license you want to transfer to make the license available. It is important to note that this user should be alerted that their profile will be temporarily deactivated, as they will not be able to access Practifi during this transition period. 

To deactivate a user, do the following: 

  1. Navigate to the Salesforce Setup page by clicking the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner of the page and selecting Setup.
  2. Under Administration in the left-hand menu, select Users.
  3. In the Users drop-down, select Users.
  4. Locate and select the Full Name of the user you are deactivating to access their user profile.
  5. Select the Edit button located at the top of the user profile.
  6. Once in edit mode, deselect the Active check box. A pop-up message opens, alerting you that deactivating users removes them from all delegated groups and sharing privileges. To proceed with the deactivation of the user, select OK.
  7. Save the user profile.
  8. Optional: On the User Deactivation page that populates, select the checkboxes next to the options if you want the user removed from these teams.
  9. Select Save to finalize the deactivation of the user profile.
  10. Scroll down on the user profile to permission groups and permission sets assignments and capture a screenshot or note down the permissions assigned. After removing their license in the next step, these permissions will be removed automatically and will need reassignment later in the process.

Removing the User License

Now that the user's profile is deactivated, you will be able to remove the user license in order to move it to another user. To remove the user license from their profile, do the following:

  1. In Salesforce Setup, navigate to the User list under Administration > Users and use the View dropdown to change the view from “Active Users” to “All Users.”
  2. Select the Full Name of the user that was just marked inactive.
  3. Scroll to the Managed Packages section located near the bottom of the user profile and locate the Practifi package in this section. 
  4. Select Remove in the Action column beside the Practifi name.
  5. A pop-up message opens, asking you to confirm the license removal. To proceed, click OK.

The license is now removed from the user profile and available for reassignment to another user within your Practifi instance.

Transferring the User License

With the Salesforce license type now available, you can transfer it to the user you want to make a System Administrator in Practifi. Do the following: 

  1. Navigate to the User list under Administration > Users and select the Full Name of the user you would like to transfer the Salesforce license type to. 
  2. Select Edit at the top of their user profile. 
  3. Select the User License field to open the drop-down menu and select Salesforce
  4. Change the Profile to System Administrator
  5. Click Save to finalize this profile and license change. 
  6. Assign System Administrator permissions to the user to adjust their access level to your organization. For additional information on assigning permissions, please consult our Managing User Permissions article. 

Reactivating the User

Now that the Salesforce license type has been transferred, you will need to reactivate the user you deactivated previously. 

  1. Navigate to the User list under Administration > Users and select the Full Name of the user you would like to reactivate. 
  2. Locate and select the Full Name of the user you are reactivating to enter their user profile.
  3. Select the Edit button located at the top of the user profile.
  4. Once in edit mode, change the User License drop-down to Salesforce Platform and adjust the Profile field to Practifi User - Salesforce Platform.
  5. Select the Active check box.
  6. Save the user profile.
  7. Re-add their user permission groups and any additional permissions if necessary to allow them to properly access your Practifi organization. For additional information on assigning permissions, please consult our Managing User Permissions article. 
  8. Alert the user that they are now able to re-access Practifi as their account is active again. 

 

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.