Understanding and Using the Data Management App

Follow

Overview

The Data Management app exists to streamline the editing of multiple records within one location. Rather than an app for opening and interacting with records, the Data Management app enables Super and System Administrator users to access all areas of their Practifi database by presenting the raw data tables that sit behind the scenes, rather than the user-facing versions available in other apps. 

Each page in the app only contains one record table, which will show you every record in that object you have access to as defined by your firm's sharing rules. 

Who can access the app?

The Data Management app is available to Super and System Administrator users within your Practifi organization. These are the users most likely to adjust records within the system for the rest of their team. Record viewing access will depend on the sharing settings within your organization, meaning users will only view records that they have access to within the Data Management app.

Access to the app can be extended to other users through the "Practifi – Assigned Apps – Data Management" permission set. This extension should be done sparingly, as the mass viewing and changing of records is primarily a Super or System Administrator user function. The additional users may not have proper permissions to edit records within the app.

Accessing the Data Management app

  1. Select the App Launcher located on the left-hand side of Practifi.
  2. Select Data Management from the drop-down menu.

Using the Data Management app

Updating individual records

  1. Once within the Data Management app, locate the object that the record is attached to and select this object name in the header.
    • For example, a user would select Events to edit a meeting record incorrectly attached to the wrong client.
  2. Use filters or the search bar within the page view to locate the record.
  3. Select the caret located on the right-hand side of the record row and then select Edit from the drop-down menu. This will open a pop-up menu for the record with the record fields for editing.
  4. Once finished making changes select Save to finalize the change.

Mass updating records

  1. Select the Object name from the header to locate the correct list of records and use any necessary filters or searching to narrow the results displayed.
  2. Select the checkboxes located next to all the record names for the records that should be edited.
  3. Then select the Edit button located at the top of the record list. This opens a similar pop-up to individually editing records, with the addition of symbols located next to fields.
    • A caution symbol means that a user should be aware of specific considerations when mass editing these fields, but they are still available for editing. The help text within these fields outlines the necessary considerations.
    • A prohibited symbol means that the field does not support mass edits. Therefore, users will not be able to enter a value into this field within the pop-up.
  4. When change occurs to a field, it will highlight yellow within the pop-up. Once all necessary changes are made, select Next.
  5. Confirm the change and select Next to submit the change and begin the update process.
    • After submitting the action, you will receive a notification letting you know that the update is processing and a separate notification for when the process is complete.
    • Any errors encountered during the update process will cause the update to skip that record. Skipped records and their error message exist within an error log available on the update's related Batch record. This record lives within the notification received when the update process completes.

Deep Delete

Deleting entity records can quickly become a complex exercise due to needing to first delete any related records. The Deep Delete feature in the Data Management app allows you to delete entity records and all underlying child records with a simple click. 

**Warning! The delete function is permanent and cannot be undone, so always double-check that you are removing only the intended records**

To use the Deep Delete function:

  1. Select the Entities from the header to locate the correct list of records and use any necessary filters or searching to narrow the results displayed.
  2. Select the checkboxes located next to all the record names for the entity records that should be deleted.
  3. Then select the Deep Delete button located at the top of the record list. Selecting this button will flag these entities and all the assets, deals, emails, events, liabilities, processes, relationships, services and tasks related to the entities for deletion.
  4. Select Next on the Deep Delete pop-up to confirm you would like to proceed with the deletion process.
  5. A success message will display in the pop-up when the deep deletion has occurred. Select Finish to close the Deep Delete pop-up message.
    • After submitting the action, you will receive a notification letting you know that the update is processing and a separate notification for when the process is complete.

Viewing records

The Data Management app also includes the option for users to open multiple records within a new tab for viewing by selecting the Open in New Tabs button.

Please note: Selecting this button will open the records as individual workspace tabs and not as subtabs, and this may become unwieldy when opening large amounts of records. When opening multiple records, they may be hidden behind the More option. We recommend using the Data Management app to mass edit records rather than mass view records. 

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.